MANITOBA GOVERNMENT

INFORMATION SERVICES BRANCH ROOM 29, LEGISLATIVE BUILDING WINNIPEG, MANITOBA R3C 0V8

PHONE 946-7175

DATE: July 6, 1973



APPOINTED TO DENTAL MECHANICS COMMITTEE

Health and Social Development Minister Rene E. Toupin has announced the appointment of Dr. Peter Jackin to the Dental Mechanics Act Committee, effective immediately.

Mr. Toupin said Dr. Jackin, associate professor and acting head of the Department of Restorative Dentistry at the University of Manitoba, will serve the unexpired term of Dr. Roy Spinks, who has resigned. Dr. Spinks was named to the six-member committee for a two-year term last November when the committee was established.

The Dental Mechanics Act, which came into force November 1, 1972, provides for licensing and control of dental mechanics and for setting standards of practice.

Committee members, representing dentists, dental mechanics and departmental officials make recommendations to the minister and advise him on matters pertaining to training courses, examinations, licensing or suspension of licenses and rules and regulations regarding administration of the act.

Other committee members are: Chairman, Dr. Donald Proctor; Thomas Milburn, William Lee, Dr. Harvey Short and Michael Kopynsky.