



NEW MANITOBA WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

Don W. Orchard

Representing the constituency of Pembina in the Manitoba Legislative Assembly from 1977 to 1995, Orchard served in various cabinet posts in the Lyon and Filmon governments. These posts include highways, health, energy and mines, and Manitoba Hydro. Prior to entering public service, he farmed in the Miami area within a few miles of this scenic part of the Pembina Valley.

The Don W. Orchard WMA, to be established from a portion of the Deerwood WMA, is situated northeast of the town of Miami and includes a portion of the Tobacco Creek.

Dr. Frank Baldwin Sr. (1934 to 2011)

Baldwin served on the board of Ducks Unlimited Canada from 1991 through 2005 and following his retirement from the board, served as an emeritus director until his death. During this time, he directed his efforts towards conservation and education initiatives including the opening of the Oak Hammock Marsh Interpretive Centre, Greenwing Days, waterfowl festivals, the Adopt-A-Class program, countless mentored hunts and the Great Greenwing Adventure Camp. He also served on the Selkirk Ducks Unlimited Committee, acting as a chair for over a decade.

Lake Francis WMA, to be renamed Dr. Frank Baldwin WMA, includes Lake Francis and the surrounding uplands at the south east edge of Lake Manitoba, between the communities of St. Ambroise and St. Laurent.

Roy Greer (1928 to 2018)

Greer and his wife Lorna farmed the home farm, raising grain and spending many years in the cattle business. He was a community- and environment-focused person belonging to many organizations, boards and committees to promote education, conservation and awareness. He was instrumental in forming the Little Saskatchewan River Conservation District and a very active promoter of the (ALUS) Alternate Land Use Services Project. Greer served as a councillor and sat on related committees for the Rural Municipality of Blanchard for three decades.

The Roy Greer WMA, to be established using a portion of the Little Saskatchewan WMA, and is situated within the Little Saskatchewan River Valley, northwest of Newdale.

Kenneth H. Wark (1937 to 2021)

Wark was a conservation officer who pioneered aerial wildlife enforcement. A pilot for decades, he flew enforcement patrols, wildlife recon, fire patrols and surveys. Much of the enforcement work was at night and Wark risked his life for wildlife and was arguably one of the most skilled pilots in Manitoba. He had a conservation agreement on his farm near Riding Mountain National Park and always maintained the wildlife habitat on his land.

The Horod Unit of Parkland WMA, will become the Kenneth H. Wark WMA, and is situated on the south side of Riding Mountain National Park, southwest of Lake Audy.

John T. Williams

Williams has worked extensively with elected officials across Canada to develop wildlife management policies and laws and with media regarding wildlife. Williams is currently vice-president of the Canadian Wildlife Federation's board of directors.

Williams was the inaugural chair of the Manitoba Fish and Wildlife Enhancement Fund and is the past-president of the Manitoba Wildlife Federation. He was the 2009 recipient of the Manitoba Wildlife Federation Outdoor Heritage Award and the 2013 recipient of the Manitoba Wildlife Federation Jack Dunlop Memorial Conservation Award.

The Thalberg Bush WMA, to be renamed John T. Williams WMA, is situated north of the town of Beausejour.

David G. Tomasson (1945 to 2014)

Tomasson worked for the Province of Manitoba for over 23 years. He started as an economic development analyst and later served as deputy minister for northern affairs and native affairs, energy and mines, and rural development. Outside of government, David was self employed as an economic development consultant and a commercial fisher on Lake Winnipeg. Later he served as the chairperson at Freshwater Fish Marketing Corporation, chair and member of the Freshwater Regional Harbour Authority Advisory Committee, director and member of the Hecla Village Harbour Authority and member of the National Harbour Authority Advisory Committee.

Washow Bay WMA, to be renamed David G. Tomasson WMA, is situated within the Interlake area northwest of the town of Riverton.