



NEW APPOINTMENTS TO MANITOBA AGRICULTURAL SERVICES CORPORATION BOARD

Here are the seven new appointees to the Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation board:

John Plohman, board chair (East St. Paul) is a retired teacher who now makes his home in East St. Paul. Plohman's previous roles include minister of government services, highways and transportation, minister of natural resources, member of the legislative assembly and municipal councillor in Dauphin. He holds a post-baccalaureate from the University of Manitoba as well as a bachelor of pedagogy in English and industrial arts. Plohman has previously served as the chairperson of the Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation as well as on the Manitoba Municipal Board, the Crown Corporations Council, the Port of Churchill Advisory Board and the Churchill Gateway Development Corporation.

Don Kostesky, board vice-chair (Brandon) is a retired farmer whose work history includes being the CEO and general manager of Farmers Co-op Seed Plant and Keystone Seedcoaters Ltd. He is an active volunteer with St. John Ambulance as well as with Seniors for Seniors. Kostesky also serves as the president and chairman of the board for the Brandon Seniors for Seniors Co-op Inc.

Paul Gregory, director (Fisher Branch) is currently the president of Interlake Forage Seeds Ltd. and Interlake Honey Producers Ltd. as well as a professional agronomist. Gregory previously founded a forage seed farm and seed plant and international forage seed marketing firm. He is currently the chair of the provincial AgriStability Appeal Committee, vice-president of the Manitoba Beekeepers' Association and a board member of Prairies East Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Inc. Gregory received a bachelor of science in agronomy and monogastric nutrition from the University of Manitoba.

Mary Johnson, director (Beausejour) held previous roles as a union representative and negotiator with United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) 832 and was employed with Burns Meats as a line worker, department clerk and inventory control. She holds a bachelor of arts majoring in women and gender studies and minoring in disability studies from the University of Winnipeg. Johnson is currently on the board of directors with the Coalition of Manitoba Motorcycle Groups and the Beausejour Royal Canadian Legion. She previously served on the Manitoba Public Insurance board.

Larry Bohdanovich, director (Grandview) has been a full-time farmer since 1985. Bohdanovich holds a bachelor of science in agriculture from the University of Manitoba. He has been involved with numerous community organizations over the years including Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation, Friends of the Canadian Wheat Board and the Grandview Kinsmen Club. Bohdanovich has been a member of the Hudson Bay Route Association since 1985.

Rayna Gleich, director (Eriksdale) is a Red River Métis citizen who works as an agriculture specialist with the Manitoba Métis Federation. Gleich grew up on a purebred Hereford Farm north of Winnipeg. She received her agribusiness diploma from Assiniboine Community College in 2023.

Gurjaspal Singh Bala, director (St. Adolphe) is the technical program manager with Harmonic Technologies where he is the project manager for multiple software initiatives. He volunteers with Punjabi Radio USA as a radio host and technology expert. Bala received his master of science in software engineering from San Jose State University in California in 2010 and his master of business administration from the University of Manitoba in 2021.