News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

May 25, 2018


The Manitoba government has appointed four new members to the Manitoba Dental Association’s board of directors and its peer review committee roster, Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

“Established in 1883, the Manitoba Dental Association is a legislated, self-governing body that serves both the public and oral health-care providers throughout the province,” said Goertzen.  “I congratulate the new members and look forward to their leadership in this important area of health-care service.”

Under The Dental Association Act, the board must consist of at least 11 people who are either members of the association, dental assistants or public representatives.  Three of those 11 board members are appointed by the minister of health, seniors and active living.

Appointed to the board to three-year terms are:

  • Andrea Thiessen, who owns Mulligan’s Restaurant in Winkler; and
  • Ashley Holtmann, of Winnipeg, who has held several positions in the finance industry, the most recent being an account manager for the Business Development Bank of Canada.

The new members of the peer review committee, also appointed to three-year terms, are:

  • Darren Luellman, of Winnipeg, who is the current director of resident services at Luther Personal Care Home and a former board member of the College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba; and
  • Inder Roopra, of Winnipeg, who recently retired from his job as director of finance for Shawano Wapunong Investments Corp. and has extensive experience on numerous boards.

Goertzen thanked the outgoing board and review committee members for their service.

 - 30 -