News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

July 23, 2018


– – –
Awards Focus on Improving Patient Care and Advocating Healthy Living: Goertzen

Nominations are now open for the Health Innovation Awards, which recognize successful initiatives across the province throughout all aspects of the health-care system, Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

“As Manitoba continues its health-care transformation, many innovative projects help make meaningful differences in the lives of Manitobans and generate momentum for more success,” said Goertzen.  “These awards highlight the efforts of Manitobans who have improved our health-care system and bridged gaps to help create a healthier province.”

This year’s awards recognize and celebrate initiatives across the province in four categories:

  • patient-centred care, to recognize an initiative that directly results in improved processes, clinical approaches and the culture of patient-centred care in front-line services, such as access to care, quality of care and overall patient experience;
  • health system improvement, to recognize creative and pioneering efforts that have resulted in process improvements;
  • the Mino Bimaadiziwin Innovation Award for Healthy Living, to recognize an individual or group that has enhanced healthy living activities among Manitobans; and
  • the Enid Thompson Award for Health Care Innovation, to recognize an individual who initiated outstanding change that has had a positive effect on patient care in the publicly funded health-care system.  

Nominees will demonstrate how their work has advanced and improved care, and how they are sharing what they learned within Manitoba to ensure long-term success.

“We want to reward these dedicated community leaders working tirelessly to help make Manitoba healthier now and in the future,” said Goertzen.  “Good ideas that improve patient care can come from anyone – patients, families, communities, front-line-care providers, policymakers and researchers – and I look forward to congratulating this year’s winners.”

More information on the awards and nomination instructions are available at  Nominations will be accepted until Sept. 17 and the winners will be announced later this year.

- 30 -