News Releases

Media Bulletin - Manitoba

August 7, 2018


Manitoba Growth, Enterprise and Trade has appointed two new members to the Surface Rights Board.

Todd Thomson (La Salle) has been appointed presiding member of the board.  Thomson is a partner at MLT Aikins, where he advises corporations and investment funds regarding public and private offerings, mergers and acquisitions, venture capital financing, takeover bids, purchase and sales of businesses, secured transactions, corporate governance and compliance matters.  He has been active in various community organizations including previously serving as a director of the Misericordia Health Foundation Board.

Donovan Toews (Winnipeg) has been appointed deputy presiding member of the board.  Toews is a principal of Landmark Planning and Design Inc., and manages major projects throughout the province.  He is an active volunteer in the planning community and has served as president of the Manitoba Professional Planners Institute and vice-president of the Canadian Institute of Planners.

The Surface Rights Board is an independent, quasi-judicial board established under The Surface Rights Act.  The board arbitrates disputes relating to right of entry or compensation for surface rights used by holders of oil and gas rights.  It also provides mediation services between surface owners, occupants and oil and gas rights holders on a voluntary basis.

Manitoba Growth, Enterprise and Trade thanked outgoing board members for their commitment and service to the province.

- 30 -