News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

January 25, 2019


Three members of the Board of Reference have been re-appointed, Education and Training Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

The Board of Reference decides matters related to school division and district boundaries at the request of individual landowners, First Nations band councils, school boards or the minister of education and training.

“These experienced board members have worked hard to balance public requests with the needs of school divisions,” said Goertzen.  “I’m pleased that they will continue to ensure fair, equitable decisions are made.”

The minister confirmed the following re-appointments:
•    Lynne Champagne (Tyndall) will remain in her role as board chair.  Champagne has served as a trustee in the Sunrise, Agassiz, St. Vital and La Division Scholaire Franco Manitobaine school divisions.  She is also a former career development consultant with Employment Manitoba.
•    Paulette Jerrard Gillert (Winnipeg) is a teacher at Kildonan East Collegiate.  She has served on the school’s senior years’ transition committee since 2015, the Village Child Care Board and as an assistant coach for the University of Manitoba Junior Bison Volleyball Club.
•    Michael Zwaagstra (Steinbach) is a teacher at Green Valley School in the Hanover School Division and has been a City of Steinbach councillor since 2010.  His community involvements include serving on several boards and teaching classes for adults at his local church.

The minister noted these appointments are part of the Manitoba government’s efforts to refresh the province’s agencies, boards, and commissions to ensure Manitobans continue to be represented in these important positions by highly qualified and enthusiastic individuals.

- 30 -