Archived News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

March 5, 1998


Two Receive Order of the Buffalo Hunt at International Women's Day Celebrations

Recognizing their contributions to Manitoba as leaders and volunteers throughout long and distinguished careers, Manitoba Premier Gary Filmon today presented Moira 'Molly' Robinson of Gimli and Beatrice 'Bea' MacTavish, formerly of Flin Flon, with the province's highest honour--the Order of the Buffalo Hunt.

Filmon praised both women for their remarkable and well-documented track record of volunteerism to a variety of worthwhile endeavours that have not only served to better their community and province, but have also made contributions on a national and international level.

Robinson has served on a number of community boards, commissions and societies and has also been president of the Thompson Chamber of Commerce, deputy mayor of Thompson, president of Thompson Nickel Days, president of the Northern Manitoba Recreation Association, president of the Manitoba Winter Games and vice-chairperson of the Manitoba Human Rights Commission.

MacTavish founded northern Manitoba's first and only chapter of Amnesty International, was co-founder of the Northern Race Relations Committee, served as a member of the Flin Flon General Hospital palliative care unit, co-founded Healthy Flin Flon--a leader in the Healthy Communities concept-- is a former Flin Flon city councillor and played a major role in supporting the Flin Flon Crisis Centre, friendship centre and food bank.

"When one honours individuals like Molly Robinson and Bea MacTavish, it becomes a difficult task to fully capture the time and effort both of these distinguished women have given to Manitoba, and in particular to Manitoba's North," said Filmon.

"You have set benchmarks in volunteerism and community spirit that will not soon be surpassed. All Manitobans applaud your efforts and accomplishments."
- 30 -