News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

November 25, 2016


Nineteen Manitoba police officers received Excellence in Law Enforcement Awards for outstanding contributions to their police services and communities, Justice Minister Heather Stefanson announced today.

“These officers have served the citizens of Manitoba with honour and distinction, demonstrating leadership and a commitment to excellence in policing and law enforcement,” said Stefanson.  “Their passion and dedication, combined with their willingness to put themselves in harm’s way to protect others, make Manitoba a safer place for all of us to live.  I congratulate each of the officers being recognized with this award.”

The awards were presented yesterday evening at the Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police Excellence in Policing Awards dinner.  This year’s recipients are:

  • Det. Sgt. Michelle Bacik, Winnipeg Police Service (WPS);
  • Sgt. Brian Brewer, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP);
  • Sgt. Larry Dalman, RCMP;
  • Const. Bruce Ewanyshyn, Brandon Police Service (BPS);
  • Staff Sgt. Lee Fortin, RCMP;
  • Staff Sgt. Andrew Golebioski, WPS;
  • Const. Paul Human, RCMP;
  • Sgt. Cheryl Larson, WPS;
  • Staff Sgt. Rob Lasson, RCMP;
  • Insp. Kevin Lewis, RCMP;
  • Sgt. Lisa Mandziak, WPS;
  • Det. Sgt. Shaunna Neufeld, WPS;
  • Const. Jay Palmer, BPS;
  • Sgt. Nicholas Paulet, WPS;
  • Sgt. Shawn Pike, WPS;
  • Const. Scott Robinson, RCMP;
  • Sgt. Bettina Schaible, RCMP;
  • Sgt. Milo Thompson, RCMP; and
  • Const. Brad Wall, WPS.

“The efforts of the men and women recognized with this award are sometimes taken for granted, but when you see their hard work on a daily basis, it is nothing short of amazing,” said Ian Grant, president, Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police.  “They are involved in dedicated investigations that may result in real personal safety risks, in community-oriented crime prevention and engagement efforts, and countless hours of volunteer service.  On behalf of all of our member agencies, we congratulate this year’s recipients for all they do for Manitobans.”

The Excellence in Law Enforcement Awards were established by the provincial government to recognize extraordinary efforts by police officers in Manitoba.  Award recipients are selected by a committee representing the Brandon Police Service, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Winnipeg Police Service and Manitoba Justice.

More than 120 police officers have received this award in recognition of outstanding contributions to their communities, their police service or the betterment of law enforcement in Manitoba.

- 30 -