News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

June 14, 2017


Future Leaders, Positive Role Models for Other Children, Youth in Manitoba Communities: Pallister

Ten outstanding Grade 12 students from rural, northern and urban areas across the province are being recognized for outstanding contributions to healthy living in their schools and communities, Premier Brian Pallister announced today at the 2017 Premier’s Healthy Living Award for Youth (PHLAY) ceremony. 

“This award recognizes the future leaders of our province for their impressive commitment to healthy living,” said Pallister.  “I am proud to see so many young Manitobans from across the province engaged in making their schools and communities healthier environments for everyone.  To see so many positive role models for other children and youth in all parts of Manitoba fills me with optimism for the future.” 

Each PHLAY recipient was presented with a congratulatory letter from the premier, a medal and a $500 bursary. 

Pallister said the province received 38 nominations from schools across the province wanting to recognize exceptional young Manitobans.  This year’s recipients were selected for promoting healthy lifestyles in one or more of the following areas: 

  • active living;
  • healthy eating;
  • healthy sexuality;
  • mental health promotion;
  • safety and injury prevention;
  • substance use and addictions and/or tobacco reduction. 

“I would like to recognize today’s recipients for being brave, creative, dedicated and committed to healthy living,” said Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen.  “To see these exemplary students achieve so much on their own initiative and at such a young age is truly inspiring.”

Goertzen also thanked the recipients’ teachers and families for supporting them in their efforts. 

The 2017 award recipients are:

  • Amy Kreshweski, Minnedosa Collegiate;
  • Brooklyn Platt, Carman Collegiate;
  • Gabby Umpherville Margaret Barbour Collegiate Institute;
  • Jessica Edel, Morris School;
  • Karla Atanacio, Sisler High School;
  • Kate Letexier, Fisher Branch Collegiate;
  • Larissa Einarson, R.D. Parker Collegiate;
  • Loizza Aquino, Vincent Massey Collegiate;
  • Marvin Routley, Oak Park High School; and
  • Tori Sawchuk, Rossburn Collegiate.

For more information on the recognition awards, visit

- 30 -