News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

June 21, 2017


The Manitoba government has appointed a new chair, vice-chair and new directors to Travel Manitoba’s board of directors, Growth, Enterprise and Trade Minister Cliff Cullen announced today.

“Travel Manitoba plays an integral role in promoting our province as a world class destination,” said Cullen.  “I’m pleased to announce the appointment of these candidates, all of whom bring a wide array of knowledge and experience that will benefit Travel Manitoba throughout their terms.”

The Travel Manitoba board is responsible for providing advice and information to government with respect to the ongoing needs, opportunities and challenges facing the tourism industry, as well as helping to foster future development, growth and diversity within Manitoba’s tourism industry.  Consistent with the Manitoba government’s commitment to a review of all agencies, boards and commissions, this board has been reduced to nine members from its previous level of 15.

The newly appointed chair and vice-chair are Stuart Murray and Lois MacDonald. 

Murray is the current president and CEO for the City of Human Rights Education.  His previous work experience includes executive advisor with Macdonald Youth Services, inaugural president and CEO of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, president and CEO for the St. Boniface Hospital and Research Foundation, and president and CEO of the Domo Gasoline Corporation.  Murray has also served on the Winnipeg Art Gallery board of governors and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra board of directors.

MacDonald, a resident of Brandon, is the manager of riverbank development and tourism services for Brandon Tourism/Brandon Riverbank Inc. and a current member of the Travel Manitoba board of directors.  MacDonald is a founding member of Brandon First, a non-profit marketing agency, and has also served on various boards and committees including Tourism Westman and the advisory committee for the Travel Manitoba Leisure Industry.

The newly named directors are Sky Bridges, Maureen Hrechkosy, Ginette Lavack Walters, Simon Resch and Tara Stefansson.

Bridges is the chief operating officer of the Aboriginal People’s Network.  He has previously held a variety of positions in the broadcast industry, covering both the private sector with PrideVision TV and the public sector with the CBC.  He has also served as vice-president of business development at the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business.

Hrechkosy, a resident of Pointe Du Bois, owns and operates Trail End Camp and Outfitters, a four-season tourism resort on the Winnipeg River in Whiteshell Provincial Park.  She is also a realtor with Sutton Group.

Lavack Walters is the executive director of Festival du Voyageur Inc. and co-owner of the Winnipeg BBQ and Blues Festival.  She has previously served as the communications representative for Friends of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and communications advisor for the Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

Resch, a resident of Emerson, is a distinguished chef, educated at the Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts and acclaimed for his work in some of Canada’s finest restaurants including “C,” Amici, Les Remparts, and Winnipeg’s Dacquisto and Tavern in the Park.  Resch is currently the general manager of the Emerson Duty Free Shop and is an active member of the Frontier Duty Free Association where his membership responsibilities include serving on multiple boards and committees.

Stefansson is vice-president of Lazy Bear Expeditions, a tour company based in Churchill.  Lazy Bear offers professionally guided excursions that include boating with belugas, snorkeling, kayaking or viewing polar bears in the Hudson Bay.  Stefansson’s role with the company involves staff training, budgeting and strategic planning, and building and maintaining client relationships.

The minister would like to thank the outgoing board members for their past service to Travel Manitoba and to the province of Manitoba.

- 30 -