News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

January 10, 2019

Province Appoints Members of the Manitoba Police Commission

The Manitoba government has appointed eight new and returning members to the Manitoba Police Commission (MPC), Justice Minister Cliff Cullen announced today.

“The Manitoba Police Commission provides well-considered and insightful advice on important matters related to law enforcement and civilian governance of policing on behalf of all Manitobans,” said Cullen.  “I am pleased to welcome David Asper as the commission’s new chairperson, who will be joined by a strong team of new and returning members with a broad range of expertise and experience.”

New appointments to the MPC include:
•    David Asper, Winnipeg;
•    Jeannette Acheson, Winnipeg;
•    R.B. (Rick) Kenderdine, Virden;
•    Ashling Sweeny, Thompson; and
•    George Wright, Winnipeg.

Members of the MPC who have been reappointed include:
•    Ernie Blais, Winnipeg;
•    Desirée Gillespie, Stonewall; and
•    Mamadou Ka, Winnipeg.

The commission provides civilian input on police services and the conduct of police officers, which can include providing advice to the minister, consulting with the public, providing support to municipal police boards and overseeing the civilian monitor program which observes independent investigations of police officers.  For more information about the role of the MPC, visit

In the 2018 throne speech, the Manitoba government committed to conducting a review of The Police Services Act.  The Manitoba Police Commission’s advice and consultations with stakeholders will inform that review, the minister noted.

The minister thanked outgoing members of the commission for their service.

- 30 -


Background Information -