News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

October 17, 2019

Manitoba Celebrates 2018 Excellence in Sustainability Award Winners

Sustainable Development Minister Rochelle Squires announced the recipients of the 2018 Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards today.
“Our government is pleased to recognize and celebrate the successes of Manitobans, and local organizations and businesses in our community that are taking action to reduce their environmental footprint,” Squires said.  “I’d like to congratulate these award winners for their leadership and dedication to ensure a sustainable future for all generations.”

This year’s award winners demonstrate that private- and public-sector organizations recognize and embrace their responsibility to promote sustainability in Manitoba.  This year’s champion for sustainability is Diversity Food Services.  This joint venture of the University of Winnipeg’s Community Renewal Corporation and SEED Winnipeg delivers food services to the University of Winnipeg, Fort Whyte and the Player’s Golf Course, while at the same time providing employment and ownership opportunities for the community.

Other award winners include:
•    Assiniboine Park Conservancy – outstanding achievement in sustainability;
•    Dr. Doug Cattani – innovation for sustainability;
•    Fisher River Cree Nation – sustainable community with an honourable mention to City of Dauphin;
•    Prairie Architects Inc. – Building Blocks on Balmoral Project – action on climate change, air quality and energy efficiency;
•    Rural Municipality of Louise Waste Management Facility – sustainability in pollution prevention;
•    William L. Taylor – education for sustainability; and
•    Randy Proven – honourable mention, champion for sustainability (posthumously).

The Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards honour people, projects and ideas that successfully turn the province’s principles and guidelines of sustainable development into concrete and lasting achievements.

- 30 -


Background Information -