News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

November 22, 2019

Province Honours Police Officers with Excellence in Law Enforcement Awards

Fourteen police officers from across Manitoba have received Excellence in Law Enforcement awards in recognition of their outstanding service and contributions to their communities, Justice Minister Cliff Cullen announced today.
“The officers we pay tribute to today put themselves in harm’s way to protect Manitobans and make our communities safer for everyone,” said Cullen.  “They have served with distinction and it’s an honour to recognize their contributions with the Excellence in Law Enforcement Award.”
The awards were presented yesterday evening at the Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP) Excellence in Policing Awards dinner.  This year’s recipients are:
Const. Michel Latreille, Brandon Police Service (BPS);
Const. Shawn Haggarty, BPS;
Const. Myran Hamm, BPS;
Sgt. Brian Chrupalo, Winnipeg Police Service (WPS);
Const. Kevin Birkett, WPS;
Franklin Henry McKay (retired), WPS and Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council Police;
Insp. Doug Roxburgh, WPS;
Sgt. Robert Hodyr, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP);
Sgt. Carrie Kennedy, RCMP;
Sgt. Eugene Yewchuk, RCMP; 
Cpl. Shane Flanagan, RCMP; 
Staff Sgt. Beryl Lewis, RCMP; 
Insp. Rob Lasson, RCMP; and
Const. Tyler Delaronde, Manitoba First Nations Police Service. 
“These officers are a credit to their police services and the communities they serve,” said Marc Robichaud, MACP president.  “Their dedication has made a measurable difference in the lives of the people they serve."
The Excellence in Law Enforcement Awards were established by the provincial government to recognize extraordinary efforts by police officers in Manitoba.  Award recipients are selected by a committee with representatives from BPS, RCMP, WPS and Manitoba Justice.
More than 150 police officers have received this award to recognize their contributions to their communities, police service or the betterment of law enforcement in Manitoba.
- 30 -