News Releases

News Release - Manitoba

April 25, 2023

Manitoba Government Announces New Chief Judge Appointed to Provincial Court

The Manitoba government has appointed Judge Ryan Rolston as chief judge of the provincial court of Manitoba, Justice Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

“Judge Rolston has demonstrated throughout his legal career an expertise and commitment to the principles of justice and has extensive experience handling complex matters as a lawyer and most recently as a judge,” said Goertzen. “I am pleased to announce his new role and am confident he is well-positioned to handle the unique expectations placed on the chief judge. I also wish to thank Chief Judge Margaret Wiebe for her service to Manitoba and the dedication she showed in her role as her term concludes this summer.”

Rolston was called to the bar in 2000. Since being appointed to the bench, he has been a leader in the education of judges in Manitoba and nationally, having organized seminars as co-chair of the education committee and for the national education committee of the Canadian Association of Provincial Court Judges. Rolston sits on the provincial court management committee and has lectured widely, helping educate police, lawyers and judges on various legal topics.

Prior to his appointment to the bench, he appeared as counsel at all three levels of court on behalf of both the defence and as Crown. He served as vice-president of the Criminal Defence Lawyers Association. Rolston managed his law firm and was president of Riverview Community Centre. He has also served his community as a dedicated sports volunteer, coaching minor hockey for over 17 years, sitting on the Fort Garry North Hockey Association board, coaching tennis and serving on the board of Tennis Manitoba.

His appointment as a chief judge will come into effect in July for a non-renewable term of seven years. Rolston was selected from a list of candidates recommended by the judicial appointment committee chaired by Chief Justice Glenn Joyal. The committee also included four community representatives and representatives from the Law Society of Manitoba and the Manitoba Bar Association.

- 30 -